"Every story delivers a knock-out punch that will leave you reeling long after you’ve put down the book, reworking your thinking on what life and love really mean."
– Dara Horn, author of In the Image, and The World to Come

Jonathan Papernick follows his debut novel, Who by Fire, Who by Blood, and his critically acclaimed short story collection, The Ascent of Eli Israel, with nine insightful, tender, and darkly humorous stories. From the streets of modern Israel to the barrooms of Brooklyn to a suburban New England synagogue, the reader easily connects with characters who search for love and acceptance in a world scarred by loss and loneliness.

In "The Madonna of Temple Beth Elohim," an Iraq war veteran returns from battle to find that his old life has left him behind and that a temporary job working at a synagogue may prove to be his salvation when the Virgin Mary appears on the eve of the Jewish high holidays. In "My Darling Sweetheart Baby," a working-class drunk waits on his stoop for his disability cheque and the courage to finally proclaim his love to a local prostitute. In the title story "There Is No Other," a rage-filled Jewish boy, tormented by his African lineage, arrives at a school Purim party dressed as the prophet Mohammed, demanding difficult answers from his hapless teacher.

Magical, erotic, spiritually penetrating and terrifyingly realistic, these provocative stories continue to mark Papernick as a writer who passionately develops his storytelling in the tradition of Bernard Malamud, Philip Roth and Nathan Englander. There Is No Other is sure to resonate with readers.

"There is a muscular certainty to Papernick’s stories that is altogether harrowing. Papernick’s penetrating, clear-sighted stories ring true." –The New York Times Book Review

THERE IS NO OTHER - Jonathan Papernick
Fiction/Stories • 5.5x8 • 184 pages
978-1-55096-138-6
(tpb/french flaps) $19.95

TO PURCHASE THIS BOOK:
1) PayPal – Click on the ADD TO CART button below to select this item for your purchase list
2) Cheque/Check/Money Order – Click on the Book’s Cover Image for a Printable Order Page

           
                             

To return to the Site, close this window

To contact us by e-mail:
E-MAIL US AT EXILE